Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Pareidolia

Brett made a big breakfast this morning (and I am not complaining about the cooking...only about the volume and goodness of the food!)  that was really more than we all needed.    So we decided to take the five dogs on a walk up the mountain behind the house.     

We spent about 2 hours just walking and looking, resting and talking.  Jerry's knees are giving him fits in the hills so  he would stop and rest a good bit which was fine with me since I took the real camera instead of just my phone.   Taking photos of forest things.  

We came upon this tree that had acorns stuck randomly in the bark.  We figured a squirrel was trying to take them up and they got stuck or something.   These two looked like a eyes and mouth to me and I really like finding pareidolia in nature.    I found more eyes looking at us too.   And we saw some fresh bear poop!    Tate got the card out of his game camera to see if the bear showed up on it.  No, bear but many deer.   

The woods are still lush and green but the air here in North Carolina is cooling off.  We woke up to 57F (14C) and it was wonderful...at home the temperature at 7am was already 78F (25C).   I love the cooler weather!   Jerry said we need a heavier blanket on the bed here!!    We have had the windows open all day with a nice breeze blowing.    Glad we will be here another whole day.

In the extra is a couple shots of the woods.  And four of the dogs.   My dog is old and she watched  the big dogs get out and play rough from the front porch!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.