On a whim

A Japanese cedar wasn't on my plant list. Neither was the pot. Now I have both. This is Cryptomeria japonica 'sekkan sugi'. Japanese cedar is easier to say. :-)

It's a small, evergreen, conical conifer. The foliage is interesting and the colour will change to dark gree in the heat of summer. I'll discover what colour it is in autumn and winter.

It's in front of a section of fence next to the gate that doesn't have totara hedge on the other side. I've wondered what I could put there to help create shelter from spring and summer nor'easterly winds.

I hadn't considered a pot in front of the fence. As soon as I saw the tree, the idea formed, and I knew it was the answer.

A whim, yes. Without thought, no. Within budget, yes.

I've been energetic today - exercise, housework, washing, weeding, potting one tree and planting another. I'm a little tired now.

Today's gratitude: For a warm and sunny afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.