Ardmaddy afternoon

A good day today, quite sunny until we set off southwards to visit the garden at Ardmaddy Castle. The cloud grew heavier as we approached, but fortunately when we reached the garden the sun re-emerged and we enjoyed a leisurely walk around the informal walled garden and the water garden.

We made a small diversion  nearby to see the new house and garden of the older generation who have moved out of the castle to make way for the next.  Good to see a new garden being planted with all sorts of interesting trees and shrubs, including a Cork Elm which I haven't been able to positively identify yet as there seems to be several elms with that common name! 

Quote of the Day:

David Hobson - "I grow plants for many reasons: to please my eye or to please my soul, to challenge the elements or to challenge my patience, for novelty or for nostalgia, but mostly for the joy in seeing them grow."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.