Life through the lens...

By ValC

Backpackers

Back Blip Saturday.

Afternoon walk along the top of Sutton Bank, and bumped into this lovely young lady walking the Cleveland Way with her two dogs.
All with their own backpacks.
She was from Wyoming, but now lived in the south of England.
Very much enjoying this part of the country. Especially the wonderful views, although unfortunately today it wasn’t so good because of rain showers.

After chatting with her we continued our walk to the White Horse of Kilburn.
Not so white now, and lots if weeds. It certainly needs some TLC, but I think there is a problem with Health and Safety. Glad this wasn’t a problem when it was first dug out in 1857.
In March 2018 the volunteers who maintain the horse were banned from working by the Forestry Commission , which own the land.
They want to use their own workers for H&S reasons.
No idea when it is going to get done.

Enjoyed watching the gliders taking off and landing too. ( see extra)

We had spent an enjoyable morning in Thirsk.
It was market day and the town was quite busy.Nice coffee in our usual place, and then I actually ventured into a small dress shop.
Very friendly staff, and so I tried on a dress which I thought may be suitable for the wedding we are going to in October.
It just wasn’t me. However I also tried on a blouse I liked. Loved it, so my first purchase of anything to wear since before lockdown.
I also bought two zinc planters from one of the market stalls.
Just such a nuisance having to wear a mask, but I know it is for everyone’s good.
However it was good to see the town buzzing.

Back home now ( Sunday) trying to catch up.
Thank you all for your kind comments, stars and hearts while we have been away.
Normal Service has been resumed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.