My Labor Day Weekend hasn't been Laborless.....

Starting on Thursday, I helped one of my neighbors build a fence for her backyard.   I thought that my fence building days were over when I left the farm, but I was wrong.
    To build this fence, each section needed a steel rod hammered (with a sledge hammer) into the ground.  After the first 2 rods were in, we connected the bottom rail and then the top rail.  Each section had to be drilled into the steel rod, then screwed from the outside of the section into  the steel rod.  The drilling and screwing, even with an electric drill, was hard work, as we had to push the drill but pull the rod.   Next we had to push the white slats down, through the 2 rails, completing a section. The first day we completed the first 3 sections.   It was 93 temps, with 87% dew point and humidity.  Between measuring, laying out and getting 3 sections and 3 posts done, we were beat, and quit.
          The second day we built the gate, hung it, and completed 3 more sections.  We had gotten an earlier start, but tired.  The work proceeded a little slower.
       Today we completed the rest of the sections, but didn't hang the last gate.   By now, all we wanted was a cold shower, 2 tylenol, and a nap.  We were beat from 3 days of mid 90's and high humidity.
Tomorrow, we hope to build and hang the last gate.   Then her dogs will be able to go outside, safely, and get get some exercise.    I have muscle aches  where I forgot I had muscles.   It's been several years since I worked that hard, building fences.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.