Rodents rule

By squirk

Blue skies

Sunshine on a West Norwood Feast day is most welcome. There was a spring in my step when I headed down to set up the market. There was a slight curveball when I saw that the stalls had been pitched in the wrong places, but I worked with what I had and the traders were eventually happy with their locations. It all worked out, as it usually does.

Blipped here is Warren from Flavours & Mr D’s. He’s been creating sky juice (a drink of shaved ice and flavoured syrups) from this cart for 40 years. By the day’s end, he’d sold out.

Also sold out were the cakes made by Brett & Bailey. It was the first time they’d traded at this part of the market and they had a great day. I also had a fabulous day sampling sticky buns and ab amazing peanut butter, caramel and chocolate cake.

We also had vintage wares, candles, jewellery, knitwear and Turkish towels. Five minutes into the market I’d bought myself a vintage M&S cardigan and pretty silver earrings from Jayne Williams Designs. Whoops! The “problem” with helping to run a market is seeing lovely things being laid out then not feeling guilty at all about buying stuff because I’m supporting traders who I’ve booked in.

All in all it was a lovely day with lots of cheery people - traders, visitors and volunteers. We enjoyed good chats and carried that on in the pub garden afterwards. It was the first time I’ve ventured into a pub since before March! It felt very safe and it was super to see a few folk I hadn’t chatted to for months.

Fred’s in the tent again tonight. Last night worked out well as I stayed inside and Juno slept on the bed with me. Fred had a better night’s sleep in the tent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.