Monschau, GERMANY

AW off to Eindhoven today, so off across the border I went.  Because the weather was less than promising elsewhere, I stayed very close to the border, one of the shortest trips I have ever made.  Monschau is very close to Aachen.

It's a picturesque little town in a tiny valley but took all of four hours to explore, including a yummy spaghetti dinner.  As usual, the restaurant asked me to note down my personal details, just in case, but the unique thing was that you had to write the info directly onto the placemat-sized menu sheet -- the info direction is printed right on the sheet -- after which they note down the info and then bin the sheet.  That, plus the usual disinfectants and mask requirements, was impressive enough for me.  I trust Germany a lot more than Rotterdam or Amsterdam these days.

The local castle has been converted into a boarding school, like many other castles, but you can climb a hill to explore another castle ruin (I did not do this) as well as a smaller hill for a fab view of the city, which I found doable.

The trip was really short and I was home in record time, with enough energy for another trip tomorrow.  Will need to check the weather again, as it is changing all the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.