Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Tiny Stitches

Since I don't have hummingbirds in my yard, I thought I would take this opportunity to blip one.  I made this about 40 years ago as a gift for my uncle who was a bird lover.  When he passed away it found its way back to me.  Even though I made it, it reminds me of him when I look at it.  Many thanks to MaryElizaR for hosting Tiny Tuesdays this month!

We had a 56 degree (F) temperature drop in 24 hours.  It hovered around 35 F all day so it hasn't been quite cold enough for snow to stick.  It's been snowing all day but everything is just wet.  Now the temperature is dropping and the grass is starting to have patches of white.  

The Cameron Peak Fire has tripled in size in the last 48 hours, now encompassing about 160 square miles.  It has been snowing (and sticking) up there all day and it has really helped firefighters.  It won't be enough to put out the fire but it should help them gain some control over it.

I am grateful that PD enjoys chopping and splitting wood.  We've had a cozy fire all day and there's enough wood ready to get us through tomorrow.  After that, it will warm up again.  It's supposed to be in the 80s by the weekend.  Hopefully, we won't see 90 again until next summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.