Bewilderment

Gugs departed successfully by 6.30am. My plan was to be wholesome and remain awake, trilling with the dawn chorus and a cup of Guatemalan bean, and slinking around in a nightgown. Of course I passed out again, dribbling until 8.55am at which point I hauled my protesting body in front of my laptop.

The day was unremarkable overall. I made headway on some project design stuff, and listened to a call about racism in the environmental charity sector, where the challenges are immense. I did various administrative tasks and bought Portuguese custard tarts from this bakery, which we always call ‘the Portuguese bakery’, even though I’m sure their other ranges are just as good as their tarts. When I pass I usually look in, enraptured, like the man in the picture.

The cats are bewildered that Gugs’ room is now where I’ve dumped a lot of stuff to store. One of them enjoyed loafing with her, and I’ve seen him crouched bemused in the doorway, wondering why she’s been replaced by some cardboard boxes and spare duvets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.