New reality day 43

Day without that much renovation.

I did finally shorten one last pair of curtains that I washed yesterday and hung them back. That's about my biggest contribution to the house today.

We drove about 40 minutes to a different types of wood selling hardware store and then drove back with the wood. From an impulse we stopped at a grill kiosk to have lunch. It's been years since I've visited a grill kiosk. You usually go there after a drunken bar night or if you are a trucker and need something to eat. So we stopped and had huge meals with all the dressings and ate outside roadside. That was kind of fun. But I still feel the fatty hamburger inside (I'm stuffed) and I don't think it will be soon that we'll visit one. That is out of our system now. Tomorrow I'll do the vegetable soup I was planning on doing today.

After we came home, we took the dogs and drove 10 minutes to a nature reserve near us called Haikkarinniemi. It's situated on the east side of lake Kymi. The white-backed woodpecker is an endangered forest bird. There were still 900 nesting pairs in Finland at the beginning of the 1950s, but towards the end of the millennium the species had disappeared from our country completely with the destruction of habitats. Thanks to the protection, the stock has grown slightly. This area is part of the sanctuary for them. We did not see any, but the rain was approaching, so not the best time to catch anything.

Once we were inside the car the rain started. We had a very good timing today.

It was a lovely beautiful place and I'm sure we'll visit it multiple times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.