pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Out out (for now)

I needed a wander at lunch.

Too much time without fresh air does not a happy D make and so I walked my river/castle route.

This is the view looking South East-ish.

I don’t know whether it was because of the recent reports about rising covid cases was on my mind, but it struck me about how busy town felt again. The hustle and bustle and general thrum of people going about the day to day was back. Whisper it: normality returning.

Until 4pm when Boris stepped up and the first in what I am sure will be a series of major wobbles since the initial easing of lockdown restrictions began. Social gatherings of more than 6 people (excluding schools and workplaces) to be banned from Monday.

Not entirely sure how I feel about that one…particularly as having dropped the children off at school and followed the procedures about sticking to the bubbles and not going in the playground etc., the same amount of parents who would usually do the drop-off, were then forced to inhabit a much smaller surface area together – and there was a lot more than 6 of us!! I know the schools are following procedure and doing what they can and so forth, but this just seemed totally non-sensical and counter-productive.

On a national level though, what is the answer? What do we do? Do we roll the dice, open everything up like it was before and hope for the best? Putting it down to a rather nasty flu like thing and acknowledge that probably a lot of those who are going to die from it were going to die anyway?

Seems a little cold to me and who has the right judge whether one life is worth more than another based on nothing more than a partially weakened immune system? I’m sure that the person receiving the thin end of that particular wedge wouldn’t regard themselves as dispensable or collateral damage.

I know I’m all over the place on this one, but I guess that is part of the problem when entering unchartered territory isn’t it? There is no frame of reference, no former experience to draw on, just the information you have to hand and a selection of opinions and recommendations to work from.

Many and various other reasons aside, who would want to be Boris Johnson right now?

I think I need another walk…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.