pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Mary Celeste

Firstly, an apology for the photo, which was not intended to be today’s blip.

It has been a busy day and no other shots were taken, so this one (intended for our work whatsapp group) will have to suffice.

I had to go into the office to collect some paperwork – currently reviewing a very long document and I don’t know about you, but there’s only so much screen work I can take and there is no substitute for something tangible!

Although a fleeting visit, it was very strange going back to the place which, up until 11 March, I attended on pretty much a daily basis. There were 4 people in who attend on a weekly basis to check and review any incoming documents and so forth, but for context there would normally be around 150 people in the building at any one time.

It was nice to engage in some familiar and mutual verbal abuse with my colleagues and hear some different, yet also familiar, lockdown stories. In some senses it was like the intervening six months hadn’t happened!

The eeriness in the emptiness of the ground floor was palpable and to be quite honest, I was happy to get back in the car and to my home again. Working from home works for me and I sincerely hope that I am able to hold onto even a small portion of that when we are phased back into the office.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.