pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Stonehaven

The meeting in Aberdeen went well and I was delighted to be complimented on my appearance with the director saying I looked “very smart” (extra)! It’s been a while since I’ve heard that, but it is nice to know that the effort to at least appear as the consummate insurance professional had been recognised.

We also finished up in good time, which meant that although I still had a long drive home to get back in time for the children, I had plenty of time to do it in, so with this in mind, I veered off left to the small harbour town of Stonehaven and was so glad I did. Firstly, it gave me time to change out of the smart but stifling suit and into my preferred shorts and t-shirt – come on, who hasn’t had their clothes off in a lay-by at some point? – and secondly, it is an absolutely charming place, well at least on a hot September morning.

I sat on the harbour wall feeling jealous of the group of ladies getting a morning swim in, but also enjoying the time to stop, think, stare out to sea and drink it all in. It felt like a mini-holiday. Whilst I could have happily sat there all day, I dragged myself away and lost the journey to the “Brydon &” podcast, particularly enjoying the Jason Manford one.

The wee ones were deposited with me after their swimming session, so we caught up over pizzas in the yarden and had an afternoon dinner perambulation (m’boy’s favourite part of the day apparently) whilst munching cornettos – strawberry, we’re not savages. I fear that I may be ageing my children prematurely as they both expressed their disappointment at not being able to watch the crown green bowling. They meditated on it for a little while (extra).

It’s been a great day, nice to be back out on the road again and enjoying some of those perks of the job. I need to remember those when I next feel compelled to start whinging about it – probably about 12.30 tomorrow!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.