pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Eat out to........avoid cooking

I have been in gainful employment for over half my life now.

To the 20-odd year old still controlling the switches and levers in my rusty brain, this is a terrifying thought to behold, particularly as I am an “insurance guy”.

Despite this apparent experience I am toting, I’ve still never really adjusted to the ebb and flow of a working day. How one minute you’re in control of everything and charting a steady course through the icebergs and the next, the hull has been scuppered and you’re taking on water and just when you think you’ve had it a rescue boat shows up to pull you to safety!

However, I pulled through after lurching from being the point man on a complex project to having to apologise for the careless mistakes made by others, but as my sister often says with a tongue in cheek tinge: “team work makes the dream work”.

On the subject of my sister, she’s visiting and so having abandoned her daughter with her husband, we two – hungry for sustenance - headed out for dinner only to find most places closed and the few that were open: full. Fortunately, the local Thai place accommodated us and we sat and ate some really good food, laughed and joked without any interruptions from children. I honestly think that a) it was the first time we’d actually gone out to dinner just the two of us and b) it was definitely the longest conversation we’d ever had!

We snapped a silly selfie of us on our walk back home and laughed afterwards at how hammered we looked (we weren’t), but realised it was the weight of parenting that had taken its toll on the bags under our eyes.

The children are worth it though. 

Just.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.