Hats off

I had a great trip to Hatfield in Hertfordshire, which is one of those forgettable London commuter belt sort of towns, but it has a large estate managed by the National Trust, handily located right next to the train station. Jackie and I met up there and had a great catch-up as she’s another old friend (from university undergrad days) who I haven’t seen despite now being in the UK for almost six months. Hatfield House charges a fair whack of £9 for entry to the grounds, so we loafed around on the grass to justify the expense, and then took a walk where we came across this nice River Lea scene.

The allure of a pub beer garden then became too strong so we decamped to one for the rest of the afternoon. Later in Cambridge in a cider haze I misplaced my bike key, and now have to somehow extract the bike from some of Heidi’s garden furniture. If I was a skilled carpenter it would be easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.