Warsaw

A day of rest, mostly. 

I did have a plan for something different today, but another night of broken sleep put an end to that wee idea.

I did not go out for lunch, however. Instead, in the evening I got a takeaway from the local Nepalese restaurant. It was my first takeaway since March. I got out of the habit during lockdown. I really enjoyed it, but better not to get back into the habit. Waistline etc. 

I had reason to search for something in That Cupboard today, and the result got Blipped. Postcards I sent my son from two work visits to Warsaw in 1998. He was 4 years old then, and just started at primary school. 

He had reached the age of being upset if I was away from home, and I had come to the conclusion I would have to make a career change to bring all that European work to an end. 

Those visits to Warsaw were very unusual, because I actually got to see a bit of the city. Normal procedure just involved meetings and hotels, then home on the first suitable flight. For some reason I must have been squeezing the most out of the travel budget, and in those days cheaper flights involved staying Saturday night.

I flew over on Thursday, had my meetings on Friday, had Saturday to myself, and then went home on Sunday.   

Those cards brought back a lot of memories. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.