Communing On The Common

I haven't been to Latton Common for ages but decided to take Ollie dog there this afternoon. She loved it. I kept her on the lead, as though the mares were tethered, their foals were loose and I didn't know how she'd be around horses at close quarters. She was fine.

We walked right through the woods until we got a good view of Latton Priory Farm on the other side. It is the site of an Augustinian monastery founded before 1292. A church built in the fourteenth century has been used as a barn there since the time of Henry VIII.

We walked increasingly skinny paths back though the woods and at one point I thought we might be lost. This group of young people were chatting as we emerged. Lovely to see them out in the fresh air enjoying themselves.

I've added a couple of pics of foals to extras. Flies were worrying the brown one. A fly can be seen homing in on it in my image. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.