10,000 Geocaches

This morning I found my 10,000th geocache. I realise it is a huge amount but it has taken just under 17 years to reach this number so on a year by year basis it is just a steady accumulation.

I had wanted to find a special geocache for number 10,000 and the one I chose was not a clever hide or in a spectacular location but was significant for another reason in that it was a challenge where you have to meet certain requirements.

The Jasmer challenge requires you to find a a cache placed in every month since geocaching started in May 2000. While this may sound straightforward the first one in the UK was only placed in Scotland in December 2000 while the first in England was January 2001. This of course means that certain months can only be found through foreign travel.

I picked up some of these months in trips abroad with Paul when we went to Ireland, Belgium, Finland, Sweden and Denmark while others were picked up on holidays in the USA and Australia. I actually completed the challenge with a cache on the outskirts of Sydney last year.

As you can see from my blip the location is not in the least bit exciting when you consider where I have been over the years. This cache is hidden on the bridge over the M6 by Charnock Richard services. To be fair it is placed there specifically because it is easy for people travelling especially if they are from outside the UK. Anyway it is quite an achievement as only 45 UK cachers have managed this challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.