MONO MONDAY - ALMOST RIGHT!

I was convinced that today’s challenge was "over and under" and it’s only now that I have come indoors to put up my Blip that I realise it should be “up and down” and that last week it was “over and under”.  You might think, and you would be right, that my brain is well and truly addled, so I am still going to post the photograph I took today.

Whilst searching in my hall cupboard for something else, I came across this arthritis bracelet and as my hands have been so sore just lately, probably from all the brick and stone carrying I’ve been doing, thought I might have a go at wearing it and see if it helped with the pain.  

Just after Mum died last December, when my sister, Karen, her daughter, Jolene, and I were clearing out Mum’s things, we were making different piles of jewellery, her cookery books and other paraphernalia to be distributed amongst the family.  I remember my sister saying something like, “You might as well have this, Maureen” and I have no doubt at all that she ended by saying “You’re older than me!”  In fact, I am 12 years older than she is, so that’s true, but she does like to remind me!

Inside the box I found a note in Mum’s handwriting - and she left notes with everything - that says “New Arthritis bracelet - 28th November 208” - I think she meant 2008 so in any event, the three year guarantee is well out of date, so even if it doesn’t work, there’s nothing I can do about it.  Actually, I doubt I will be wearing it anyway because I can’t get the clasp to work - it goes "over and under" all right, but then I can’t get it to stay closed.  I took the bracelet off my wrist and tried to close it whilst it was on the worktop, which I managed to do, and then I couldn’t get it open without getting a spoon to lever it off - and at this point the spoon was going “up and down” but of course, I haven't got a photograph of that!

I then rang Karen to ask if Mum ever wore the bracelet because I didn’t remember seeing her with it on, and she confirmed, just as I thought, that as Mum got older - and she was 95 when she died - because she had lost so much weight, and even though some of the links had been taken out, it was still too big for her to wear, so it would have gone “up and down” on her wrist!   So, here is my messed up Blip using last week’s challenge - with apologies to SueJay50 - but perhaps I will get one star for trying!  If Mum is watching I’m sure she will be having a little chuckle to herself.

“I am who I am,
     not who you think I am;
not who you want me to be,
     I am me.”
Brigitte Nicole

And guess what, I'm not perfect -
     I do make mistakes.  
Mrs. HCB

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.