SILLY SATURDAY - A PROLIFERATION OF PADDINGTONS

If you think, just because I’m bigger than all the rest, that I’m going to stand here and keep watch over all the little Paddingtons, to make sure they behave, then stroll on! 

I mean, look at the one on my left, Master "Lean Over” Paddington - he can’t even be bothered to stand up properly and always has a “list” to one side. 

As for the one in front, Master “I’m Not Going to Bed Yet”  Paddington - if he had gone to bed earlier last night, when he was told, then he wouldn’t be lying on his back looking up at the stars and nodding off. 

I notice that several others - all known as Masters ”I’ll Do It My Way” Paddingtons - couldn’t even be bothered to find their red wellies - despite me telling them that if they were put in the right place when they were taken off, then it would be easier to find them the next morning! Will they ever learn? 

Then there’s Master “I Like To Be Different” Paddington - he always has to wear his blue hat with his red coat when we specifically said today was the day for red hats and blue coats. He’s a little rebel, that one! 

Now me, I’m Mr. “Perfect” Paddington, but then, I’ve been posing for photographs for a long time, so I know what I’m doing.  In fact, one of my Paddington friends actually lives with Mrs. HCB’s friend, Heather, and we have visited her from time to time, so I've modelled myself on him.  Mind you, it’s hard work being perfect!

I notice that Mr. HCB always wears a hat - I wonder what’s in his? If it’s a marmalade sandwich, then that would be silly! 

“A wise bear always keeps 
     a marmalade sandwich in his hat 
          in case of emergency.”
Michael Bond - Creator of Paddington Bear

PS  Mum was watching TV when I arrived last night - so I just had a quick coffee and a chat with her, then left. I think she’s rallied enough to be left for longer periods especially now that the carers come in at regular intervals, four times each day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.