DERELICT SUNDAY - BUT THERE'S ALWAYS SOMEONE.....

…..who wants to “photobomb” one of your shots!

After we had been to Church, I went round to sit with Mum to listen to Songs of Praise but she wasn’t happy because at 1 p.m. the carer hadn’t been to make her lunch, but I told her that they have lots to do and can’t be “bang on time”  despite Mum insisting she had a list of the times they were due.  I decided that it would be easier on my ears if I made her lunch and then asked the carer to wash up afterwards, which is what happened.

I then left her watching television and then Mr. HCB and I went out to Barr’s Yard at Hungerford, where for a mere £8,500 you could pick up a lovely 18th century piece of stonework with a bronze armillary on top.  I would like an armillary in the garden, but not at that price!  There were lots of other “bargains” too if you have a few thousand pounds to spare - all courtesy of “Garden Art” - Purveyors of Fine Garden Ornaments - but think we have done the right thing having our kitchen re-fitted.

However, when we saw these two armless Romans, I decided they were neglected enough for a photograph for this week’s Derelict Sunday challenge, but Mr. HCB got there before me!  So, you tell me, who looks the most derelict?  I must admit I didn't even look at the price of these two, but think that the guy in the middle might be a better buy!

We then had a cup of coffee before going to the nearby Dobbies Garden Centre and got some bargain chrysanthemums, which are humungous and only cost £2.69 each, together with a few wallflowers, so that will keep Mr. HCB out of mischief for a while planting all those.  I did tell Mr. HCB that his Dad would be proud of him for buying the chrysanthemums, as Harry loved to see them in his garden.  However, I also thought of his Mum when I was trying to convince Mr. HCB that they were a bargain and we should buy them - see the quote below and the chrysanthemums I’ve put in as an extra.

It’s been a beautiful weekend weather-wise, and I hope all those who have to go to work feel refreshed and relaxed.  Have a great week, everyone.

“If you buy it and you don’t need it,
     it’s not a bargain.”
Joan Iles (Mr. HCB’s Mother)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.