A CORNUCOPIA OF FLOWERS

Cornucopia - an abundant supply of good things of a specified kind

I don’t normally do a collage for Flower Friday, but there were such beautiful flowers in the garden when I had a mooch round, that I decided to - just for once.  I must say that there is definitely more of an autumnal feel in the mornings, although I wasn’t out there that early.  

The pink poppy has appeared in one of Mr. HCB’s vegetable beds and neither of us knows where it came from, but we will be saving the seeds and hopefully, when the large flower border is redone, our lovely red poppies will be interspersed with pink ones.

Next to that is our Compassion rose, which has been wonderful this year and just seems to keep going - and there are still lots of buds to open, so I may be able to use it on another Flower Friday, if all else fails!

In the middle is a dianthus, appropriately named "Gran's Favourite", which has been moved from the large border into a “holding” bed and it is doing very well - in fact, all the plants we have moved seem to be doing well - I just hope when it is time to move them back, they will adjust to the move.

At the bottom right is the flower on one of Mr. HCB’s Tromboncino plants - whilst taking this, I noticed that there are at least three very long courgettes - so I guess there might have to be more chutney made.  We did try some the other day with some cheese and freshly baked rolls, when we sat outside to have our lunch, although it had only been made a couple of weeks ago, and should really be left for about three months, and it was given the HCB seal of approval!

I did find a lovely big spider on the Tromboncino frame, but didn’t include that, as I know many of you don’t like spiders - but if you want to see it, I have put it in as an extra.  I didn't crop it too much, so that you can see the web - they are so industrious, so I was careful not to break it.

At the bottom left is the flower of some much smaller courgettes, that are actually the same colour as the flower, and if these are picked when young and tender, are delicious either just gently fried or roasted in the oven.

Just as an aside, I haven’t forgotten, Rose, Sue, Karen and Ali, who all asked for some of our red poppy seeds - I might even send you a bonus of some pink ones too!

There will be no housework done today as I have lots of cards to write and then I need to go out and post them - Mr. HCB will happily work in the garden all day - so my time’s my own!

“There is a time 
     in the last few days 
          of summer 
when the ripeness 
     of autumn 
          fills the air.”
Rudolfo Anaya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.