DAMP, DISMAL AND DREICH

Looking out of the window, I could see that the day was much more than just “damp” - it was positively “chucking it down”, so I guessed that Mr. HCB would not be going out walking with his friend, Barry, and I was right!

I came downstairs and even at 8.30 in the morning, we needed a light on in the lounge - well I did - Mr. HCB doesn’t seem to be affected by the gloom as much as I do, but it was definitely “dismal” as far as I was concerned.

The third word in my title, “dreich” is a word I often see in the Blips from friends in Scotland and it means dull or gloomy - and it fitted the bill to make an alliterative title for today’s Blip.

We thought of going out to a garden centre, but decided that it was raining too hard for it to be a pleasant drive, so we went instead to Jack’s - and saw Keiran again.  There were only two other customers, so we chatted to him for a while.  I asked if he had received my message last week giving him the link to my Blip and he said he hadn’t, so we discovered I had an old telephone number.  We soon sorted that and then we chatted about Margaret.  I said I hadn’t heard anything else, but would certainly let him know if I did.

We sat next to the bar area, and Mr. HCB was in his element because he could watch Somerset and Lancashire playing cricket on Sky Sports as there was no rain in Taunton.

Meanwhile, I played around with the candle holder next to the champagne bucket and got a half-decent shot - but realised that the artificial candle wasn’t working, so Keiran, bless him, offered to change the batteries, which he did and made me happy.

It’s always good to have a bright light on a gloomy day - so not only was the candle bright, but Keiran was too - and then Flo and Pascale came in - so even more bright lights!  

Home now and I am about to start decluttering my hall cupboard - I may not be available for sometime!

“Even when it’s raining
     and it’s dull, dismal and dreich,
          the sun is still shining 
               on someone
                    somewhere.”
Mrs. HCB

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.