IN A SPIN!

I told Mr. HCB I was going out for a walk this morning to see how the new building was getting on near Coate Water, when he said he would come with me, which was great as we haven’t been out for a walk for a long time and we really enjoyed our time together.  I did take quite a lot of photographs, but decided to use one I took later - read on and you will see why.  

Before we left, I put three of my light coloured fleeces into the washing machine so that they would be clean and fresh ready for our holiday in a couple of weeks’ time.  However, when we got back, they were still churning round.  When the machine eventually stopped and I opened the door, I could feel that they were still sopping wet, so on went the machine again - for another 13 minutes and then again - for another 13 minutes and then yet again - but even after an extra 39 minutes, they were still dripping wet.

I went online to try and find out what to do and the oracle that is Mr. Google said that perhaps the filter needed cleaning out - so after finding an old towel and something to drain the water into, I went into the utility room, got down on the floor, which is really hard for me with my creaky knees, to empty the filter and see if anything was stuck in there.  Nothing!  I decided that this Bosch was not going to get the better of me, so I redistributed the fleeces and decided to sit there until I could see them spinning all the water out.  13 minutes is a long time to sit on a hard, cold floor!  However, it gave me time to sit and look at all the lovely photographs of our family. 

The spin got down to 5 minutes, then 4, then 3 then 2 and you won’t believe it, it then went back up to 7!  I wasn’t having that, so I switched it to OFF because having spun for 9 minutes, I thought all the water should be spun out!  Then I couldn’t get the door open, even after waiting for another 5 minutes, and I was still sitting on the cold floor - so I decided that I had better set it to “Drain” without spinning to see if that would work - and it did!  After another 3 minutes, the machine stopped, the beeper beeped and I tried to get up quickly - not easy when you can’t kneel properly, as anyone else with creaky knees will tell you.  Thankfully, the fleeces were not sopping wet, so they are now drying and hopefully will be lovely and fluffy ready to go to North Yorkshire!

You may wonder what Mr. HCB was doing all this time - well he was enjoying himself out in the sunshine, in the garden and knew nothing of the palaver I had had sitting on the floor.  So, this is for my dear friend, Heidi, who says that Blip should be about what’s happened in your day - I knew you would all be eager to see a shot of where I spent a good part of my morning - so here it is!  I tell you what though, that Bosch ain’t bossing me and I’m still smiling!

“Our greatest weakness lies 
     in giving up. 
The most certain way to succeed 
     is always to try just one more time.”
Thomas Edison

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.