THE END OF AN ORCHID - OR IS IT?

My lovely friend, Linda and her daughter, Vyara, came to visit in mid-December 2021, to bring my birthday present - my birthday being on Boxing Day - and I was delighted to receive a beautiful orchid from them.

I had never had one quite like this, my previous ones all having been in pots with drainage holes in the bottom, so I was a little concerned that I might over-water this one, which was in a glass container with just moss around the roots of the orchid.  For that reason, I watered it very sparingly with just enough to be able to see it through the glass.

I obviously did the right thing - as it has delighted me throughout the months from last December until yesterday, 13th September, when the last flower dropped.  Linda worked at Sainsbury’s and she bought it from there - and as I was so pleased with it, I did write to them to say how beautiful it had been, but heard nothing back.

So the end of an era as far as my orchid is concerned, but if I nurture it over the winter, I have no doubt it will bloom again.  Linda and Vyara - seen here when they visited us back in August - have now moved back to their home in Bulgaria, where Vyara is hoping to go to university, so I hope that before too much longer, I will be able to send them a photograph of a new orchid.  I have put in a shot of the orchid in all its glory, as an extra.

“The orchid is Mother Nature’s masterpiece.”
Robyn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.