Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

ANOTHER SNAPSHOT OF MY DAY

I knew when I was in hospital that one of my teeth didn’t feel quite right and having been asked if I had any crowns before my back surgery, I thought that perhaps it was just something to do with all the instruments I would have had in my mouth during the general anaesthetic.

However, it hadn’t got any better, so I “bit the bullet” so to speak, and rang my dentist yesterday.  We love our dentist and all the staff there, so I had quite a good chat with Debbie, the receptionist, who always treats us well.  She gave me an appointment for today, so off we went.

When Satnam, my dentist, knew that I had had surgery, he asked if I had had a GA - my brain is quite addled at the best of times, so I must have looked quite puzzled, so he then explained that GA was a general anaesthetic, so I confirmed I had.  He said it was quite common for people to come in after a GA with issues with their teeth, so I’m in the “quite common” group rather than the “unique” one!  I was soon on the couch, with Sat making sure I was comfortable - when he lent me back, I closed my eyes and could have gone to sleep, it was so comfortable.

Sat spoke in “dental speak” to Claire, his lovely nurse and before I knew it, the job was done.  I’m not sure how many of the instruments he used - see bottom two shots in my collage - because I always keep my eyes closed, but when I said I was back in November so that he could then do the “proper job”, he said that I wouldn’t need any more work, the job was done!  Hooray!

They know about Blip, so I asked if I could take a couple of shots before I left, and they were happy for me to do so.  The top shot is what is known as the Tented Market, which sadly is no longer in use and is now waiting to be demolished - you will see there is plenty of graffiti on the building - and will probably end up being flats with shops underneath - but time will tell - our Council is not known to be fast at making decisions.

In the background is the David Murray John Tower, one of Swindon’s most prominent and its tallest building. This 20 storey tower block consisting of offices and flats, built in 1976, sits high above the town centre, but needs extensive repairs, which are estimated to cost around £5 million and will take about 2 years to complete.  Apparently, the tenants will have to move out whilst the work is being carried out.  Most things in Swindon seem to take much longer than the estimated times, so we will see.

We were due to have our hair cut this afternoon, but sadly our hairdresser has Covid, so I think a little nap is on the cards for me.

Thank you again for all your kind comments, stars and hearts, which are all very much appreciated.  I have also had two more cards from Blip friends - you are certainly a great bunch and I really appreciate your concern but I am getting there, albeit slowly.  

P.S.  The extra shows our colourful stirfry from last night with all homegrown vegetables, courtesy of Mr. HCB - it was very good, although I say so myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.