Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

A SNAPSHOT OF MY DAY

A bitty day, if I’m honest - I got up lazily following a somewhat disturbed night, had my shower, and then decided to ring Robert Welch, a company we had bought several knives from about 10 years ago, as the bread knife wasn’t cutting as it should and I was concerned about how to sharpen the serrated edge.

I spoke to Claire, a lovely lady in Customer Service who asked if I would send a short video to show the Quality Control Team - which I said I would do.  I told her that I would need to put my lippie on and we had quite a laugh together.  How refreshing - and definitely not your usual surly Customer Service contact!  I said we were delighted with all our other knives, but this one wasn’t as sharp as it could be.  You can see me at the bottom left - Mr. HCB did a great job with the video.  Claire has responded already - what excellent service - and has sent me a link to a page that tells us how to sharpen a serrated edged knife.  That will be one for Mr. HCB - because knowing me....need I say more?

Just prior to this, Mr. HCB had brought in some more garden produce, so tonight we will be having a stirfry - it’s a good job the new stool goes up high enough for me to sit and stir!  However, we have so many tomatoes that I decided that we would have bruschetta again with a balsamic glaze and very tasty it was too with plenty of garlic and even some chopped rosemary, which was in a little posy given to me by a friend a couple of weeks ago.

After that, we decided to go to the library at Badbury Park - for a few minutes we were the only ones in there until a man came in with his little daughter, who was about 3 years old, chatting and just generally having a delightful time together.  I said that it was so good to know that parents still read to their children and Dad agreed.  I think they ended up taking about 10 books home!

Mind you, we also brought 10 home - this library only has novels and children’s books, but that suits us - if we want any non-fiction books, we can go to the big library in town, but this one is very close by and only takes 2 or 3 minutes in the car so is very convenient.  

The middle shot is a little knitted squirrel and when I asked the significance of this, Siân, the lovely librarian, said that it stopped the children poking their fingers down the hole and removing the plastic covering!  Well I did ask.  She had several soft toys about and they do have Children’s Sessions at the library regularly, so I did mention the Silly Saturday Gang going over there sometime and they are open on Saturdays, so watch this space!

Finally, we popped into the Co-op store just over the road and were surprised to see these Lindt Father Christmas figures for sale - needless to say we did NOT buy one - it is far too early and knowing me, it would be gone before 10 o'clock tonight!  

Well, better go and start chopping, thankfully all my other Robert Welch knives are super sharp, so do the job very well.  I’m sure we will enjoy our meal this evening.

Many thanks for your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s Blip - just wish some of you lived nearer so we could share our bounty with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.