Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Fiery bottle brush

It was a scorcher today, think it got to 29C which is very hot, a true Indian Summer so late in September. I had no time to walk Xena after breakfast so instead Gavin and I went for an early morning run before breakfast and she came with us. We did 6km through the woods and I think she must have done 12km as she was running off the path into the woodland and then running back again, she never stopped. It was very quiet at that time of the day and the only sound was Xena crashing through the undergrowth, all the deer and squirrels had very fair warning of her approaching!

The reason I had no time for a walk after breakfast was that this morning Xena had her first agility class. There is an agility school near us that was established 25 years ago and the owners have had many wins at Crufts and Olympia. I am not looking to compete with Xena, I am doing it purely for the mental stimulation and fun aspect of it. She seemed to enjoy it and did very well today, despite it being so uncomfortably hot.

After agility I went to the Post Office collection depot to collect a parcel, only to discover that instead of being open 5.5 days a week as usual, they are now only open 3 days a week from 7am to 10am. Yup, that makes sense, when online shopping has quadrupled in times of the Coronavirus and everyone is needing to collect parcels, lets reduce the hours!! Ridiculous. Anyway I will have to go back tomorrow and get there before 10am.

I went home for a coffee and to drop off a tired Xena and then went grocery shopping. It has been too hot to go out again, so I wandered around the garden with my camera and loved the light on these bottle brush flowers making them look such a fiery red.

Tonight I have my first camera club zoom meeting - we will see how it goes and then I can decide if I wish to join the club.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.