a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Perfect Day

Mono Monday: Up and Down

With shades of Lou Reed, it has been (in weather terms) almost the perfect day, not quite too hot and certainly not too cold.  In many other ways it has been a perfect day - we've been joined for a meal by my sister Janet and her husband Incredibish.  In traditional fashion I managed to burn the sausages on the BBQ but there was plenty of cold beer, wine and Armangac to make up for any culinary shortcomings.. 

iPhones were being waved around by my sister so there may be photos, or there may not be.  Who knows.  As this photo shows, after dinner we went on a small stroll, initially up through the wood and then down through the fields.  In theory we were aiming to make room for some of my sister's scones.  Janet nailed making scones years ago and, truth be told, you don't need to make much room for them they just seem to slip down with a nice cup of tea. They didn't disappoint.

Because of the Coronavirus crisis, this is the first time they have been over to eat with us this year. I think that they were rather surprised (and more than a little disbelieving) when I mentioned this.  But I have double checked the diary and Blip and I am certain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.