Elephant Hawk Moth Caterpillar

... appeared on the back door step as I’d finished tidying away for the day and was just about to go in.  It wasn’t going to find anywhere to hibernate in the direction it was going so I scooped it up and took it to some shade in the garden where it could burrow into the soil.  Apparently they feed on fuchsias in the garden, of which there are a few pots in this patio area, and are usually seen at this time of year.  This is a first for me so I wish it well.

I’d just walked up to the postbox and into the edge of the wood to see how my fungi were getting on - well one has been nibbled and there are now three, but the caterpillar had to have priority today.  I’d also watched and photographed the young Goldfinches on the closest feeder to the house (of which there are many) but I’m not sure I will save these photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.