Avocet

Today we went over to Gibraltar Point near Skegness. Brian regularly goes there with his birding buddies but I hadn't been for years. I was a bit dismayed to see how busy it was when we arrived - both car parks were packed! But I left the car and headed to queue for the loo while Bri found  parking slot.

 He paid for two hours, so we went and had a look at the marshes from the hides. (Bri had to check the hides for spiders before I would go in!) I took this photo of an avocet from the Jackson's Marsh hide. There were also redshanks, snipes, a curlew sandpiper and greenshanks as well as the usual mallards and Canada geese. A majestic marsh harrier also flew over, driving away the avocets even though other birds hung around. It was beautiful but I had Bob hope and none of getting a photo of it!

Afterwards we went off and had fish n chips in Skeggy. I tried something I have heard a lot about, mainly because the chippies I worked for didn't  sell them but we'd get asked for at least once a week - Yorkshire fishcake! They are really tasty - much better than the breadcrumb fishcake! It was very filling - I'm still full now!

After, we had a little walk along Skeggy beach before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.