Mallards Lake, Downswood

Phew, what a scorcher. It was at least 29c in Bearsted with Frittenden, not far from here setting a record of 31c. A little cooler tomorrow I understand.

I had every intention of going for an early morning run to beat the heat, getting up at 6.30. I looked at the clock at 5.50 and thought another 40 minutes and I’ll get up. Ha! It was over an hour later when I next looked at the clock. I eventually got out at 10.15, my was it hot! I was glad to get back.

We went out for lunch with Barbara and David to the Yeoman as we’d heard good reports about it. The food was good but we were disappointed that they didn’t offer a lunch menu so the prices were much higher than we expected. Tip: ask when phoning a pub if they have a lunch menu.

While Barbara and David stayed home and later fetched Doreen Susan and I went for a walk around Mote Park and to Mallards Lake where today’s blip was taken.

To round off the day Susan gave me a haircut then I went to the allotment to feed and water beans and find a few more raspberries to go with stewed apple.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.