Learning

Today in my lunch break I went to the supermarket to grab some missing ingredients for the green tomato chutney (over a kilo of shallots and a kilo of onions). It’s finally been made this evening but took ages and turned into hot and somewhat painful work. It always feels like a heavy job that takes a few hours but the tomatoes wait for nothing once they’ve been picked! MrH got chilli caught in his fingers which caused lots of ouches. I scalded my finger, thankfully I had ice on hand to sort it. Need to try and get hold of a few more jars though (tomorrow’s lunchtime job).

Today I made French Sorrel soup from scratch for the first time. I loved its lemony taste but MrH wasn’t struck by the texture (it was rather thick and creamy thanks to the addition of flour, cream and egg yolks). I will definitely try and make it again, I think it may be my new favourite soup.

I was going to blip MrH blowing out a candle on his cake today but he felt too hot and tired after chutney making to eat so I guess it may roll on to tomorrow, like today’s unfinished tasks.

The cork is mine, I decided something fizzy was needed to cook with- it went well with the zesty soup! Watched the film about the Getty Kidnap starring Christopher Plummer this evening - it was quite interesting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.