horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

De-Cogged, Re-Cogged

I'm so glad we took the day off extra today after the trip to Copenhagen (the long weekend back-blip starts with a dog in a trike here).

Time in the morning to do some work on the website (and do some back-blipping, obviously) and let the chickens out to root about the garden while I sorted the fixed wheel bike. The old chain had stretched ridiculously, so I replaced it the other week. The problem was the new chain didn't sit well with the shark-finned old cog, so a new one was in order. Loads of life in the old one really, but the noise it made whenever any drive forward was made would have woken the dead.

But I couldn't bring myself to throw the old one out, so it's living on the frame for the time being.

After that we went for a drive north. A long weekend in a pancake flat city lead to a desire for some hilly rurality, so we headed for Aberfeldy, with a late lunch at the Watermill book shop and gallery, and a wee drive through Glen Lyon. Unfortunately the weather started closing in, so the photo opportunities died a bit...

Home in time for some trashy dinner (scampi and chips) and beer (we stopped at the little beer shop in Kilmahog to indulge) and after a detour to the Argaty Red Kites (closed, and expensive!) I found through their website at home Go Wild Scotland, from whom I may be requesting one of their courses from my family for an upcoming birthday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.