horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Catastrophic Handlebar Failure...

You're riding at 25mph, a mile or so from home, happy with the end of the day. Parked cars to your left, an only-just-no-longer-static queue of cars ahead that had been stopped for lights, and another cyclist behind you. Suddenly the front wheel slews left and you think, damn, a puncture. Pull back on the brake, and the slew gets worse, and it is at this moment that you realise your handlebars have snapped... I have no idea at all how I stayed upright.

It's never happened to me before, and I'd be happy for it never to happen again. And while I sort out some replacement bullhorns the Peacemaker is sporting some temporary drops.

Bit of an adrenaline rush for the way home. The really annoying thing is that those are quite expensive and, supposedly, high quality bars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.