horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Punk'd

This may not seem like much of a milestone, and entry 488 would certainly never really garner much of an effect. But this is the first time since I started blipping that I've managed an entire month without a gap. Seriously, send in the marching band.

It's even more surprising given I've not had much time for many things this month, and most certainly have not been commenting as much as I'd like.

Anyway, odd day. To work as normal, knowing that I was nipping out for a short while at the end of lunch to a funeral (Mel's great-uncle Archie who was 101 - I remember going to his 100th birthday and meeting him for the first time - lovely lovely chap, who then proceeded to take me round everyone at the party). Mentioning it at work I was told that there wasn't really much point in going back in afterwards.

The funeral itself was a pretty relaxed affair (though I still find glorying god and speaking about 'him' and his wean so much rather than the person who has died is slightly strange) and afterwards Mel and I headed home (she had a half day). Bit of the website done, then a wander down to the Figgate (I was tempted to go further afield for some snow shots), back home, finish building a raised bed, pizza and wine over Masterchef, then back online here to crack on with more of the website.

Such has been the day. Anyway, I missed the money-shot (so to speak) at the Figgate. Spotting a Goosander pair (I've seen the female there plenty, but not the male, then today there were THREE pairs) I was concentrating on getting them in shot so much that I missed the Canada Geese flying straight for me. One executed an air-brake 90 degree turn just 5 yards from me, but I just didn't have time to wind in the zoom, focus and shoot before he was off and into the water. Ah well.

So you get a punk'd Goosander female instead.

Rejects:
Tufted Duck Close-Up
Goosander Male
Moorhen on the flooded walkway

And there's a shot in the Flickr lot of the male Goosander doing an Elvis impression.

I'm going to get back to interesting writing on these entries in the next few days - just now they're turning into simple recitals of the day, which isn't what I ever really intended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.