Early Morning Reflections

I was up and out for sunrise again this morning, and there was the added bonus of a low tide so I ended up going further than planned. There are wooden steps with viewing platforms down the side of the cliffs near our hotel, so after standing on top of the cliffs to watch the sun rise I decided to investigate the walkway.  There were a lot more steps than I thought, but once I'd gone so far, there was no point turning back without seeing where they led.

When I got to the bottom, I was in a little cove which normally would only be accessible by these steps, but because the tide was out, I was able to walk across the rocks, through the sea and got round onto the main beach.  It was lovely as there were lots of rock pools, and some interesting birds feeding, which Google tells me were Ruddy Turnstones. The reflections of the cliffs were amazing and you can just about see our hotel on the top of the cliffs here.  The only downside was that I had to get back up to the top again, but it was worth it and I'd earned my breakfast!

We hired another daybed today, so had a nice relaxing day with a swim in the afternoon.  Then tonight we had dinner in the A La Carte Restaurant - you're allowed one meal per stay here, and I'd originally booked it for Friday as it's our wedding anniversary, but unfortunately it got changed to tonight as we were the only people to book for Friday.  We spoke to the manager and she said that due to the hotel becoming quieter there was nothing they could do and couldn't open it just for us, but as an apology she's also booked us for a meal there on Monday night next week.  It made a nice change to have waiter service and the food was excellent!

We both felt stuffed after we'd eaten, so decided to go for a walk into the village - we haven't been down there at night before and there was a really nice atmosphere.  Being just a fishing village it's not rowdy,  there's no clubs, just bars, restaurants and shops so much more relaxing that some of the places on the Algarve - it has a very 'local' feel here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.