Ascending

Well, the vagaries of the British weather never fail to impress. Yesterday was a day so depressing in its chilly greyness I could have cheerfully booked a single ticket to Switzerland, but today it’s warm and sunny and the Meadows are full of recumbent students cheerfully ignoring any Covid restrictions.

Despite the attraction of being outside all afternoon I was wedded to Zoom for an hour and a half. Zoom is no substitute for a convivial book group meeting in someone’s house. It may work in a formal business meeting but when seven ladies get together to discuss a book, it descends in a cacophony of voices and if you are lucky you might get heard depending on there being a gap in the noise or just keeping talking.

Having had my flu jab letter from the Powers that Be, I set about trying to find how to get the said jab. Having phoned my doctor’s surgery, I listened to a 5 minute information talk about why you might possibly die before you could even see a doctor face to face far less get a flu injection. Flu jabs were not even mentioned, however, listening in on the grapevine I believe the pharmacies are dealing with them this year, but haven’t got the vaccines yet., so I’m on hold.
It’s beginning to sound a bit like the same muddle as the Covid testing.
Heaven help us all. Perhaps these orange suited workers were preparing their own ascent to Heaven to be first in the queue for a jab.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.