Indian Summer

Summer has come to the Borders, the sun is out in force and it is warm, nay hot!

Daughter #2 very kindly drove me down to Melrose this morning via the scenic scone route through Peebles. Cranberry and walnut scones were eaten to aid us on our way to Melrose and the Town House Hotel where I will stay for 2 nights. My room is huge with a king sized bed for me to wander round during the night.

My stepdaughter now lives in Melrose and we are having dinner together this evening. This is the very hotel that was to host her March wedding reception but which was cancelled because of pesky Covid.

The town was even busier than Edinburgh with tourists and not one free parking spot to disgorge me and my case anywhere near the hotel.
My daughter had her bike in the car and has ridden off to Kelso, coming back to collect her car and return to Edinburgh.

I spent the afternoon walking by the Tweed and exploring the lanes and paths round the town and all without a coat! An Indian summer’s day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.