Still waters

In the past this would have been the day that His Lordship and I would have been quaffing champagne and eating scones at Harvey Nicks in celebration of another year of marriage. Instead, I found myself for the first time in my life sitting on my own at the hotel breakfast, studying my phone as intently as did those single women I’ve seen in the past, read their books.

Fortunately, after a gander round the highways and byways that make up this lovely Borders town my friends from Kelso drove over to Melrose to see me. We haven’t been together for a year and it took most of the day and a wonderful lunch to catch up. I have known this couple for 55 years and we share many memories.
The sun was shining and we walked and ate and sat in the sun , as you do when the years are advancing alarmingly. It was a wonderful day and I am now waiting to see my stepdaughter who is coming to the hotel for a cup of tea and a blether. I hope she has eaten because I am never going to eat again after that lunch..........that is a lie of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.