Frustrations & Forever Friends

Slept soundly last night, hurray!!
Binmen alarm later this morning 8.40 ;-)

After some fruit & yoghurt I got myself ready for my lunch date.....almost poked my eye out putting the finishing touches to my mascara.. that should have warned me that my day wasnt going to go well :-/

6 of 8 of us meeting for a socially compliant lunch, sad, but I suppose fortuitous that both L&L couldn't make it really, given the current restrictions.

I dropped hub off in town so he only had to walk one way, then jumped on the M6/56/60. Not my usual route but easiest from town. Was making good time, so slowed down a little, didn't want to get there too early.

Next thing all 3 lanes ground to a halt, overheads flashing 60/40/20mph.. annoyingly I was half a cars length past an exit slip road!
That was at 11.30.....around 5 miles from my destination, table booked for midday.

Won't bore you anymore but suffice to say there was another minor bump directly in front of me, as we were going down to one lane, on the sliproad, as all traffic was taken off the Motorway, which meant it was 1.30pm when I walked through the Bistro door, to a round of applause lol, 15 minutes behind J, who had also been stuck!!! The other four girls had alreayd had their food having pre-ordered it.

Despite everything, we had a lovely lunch and catch up, we've not seen each other since K's beautiful girls funeral. We were all very good and did not hug or kiss as we would normally, hard as it was :-( a group pic in extras.

Journey home was much less stressful, similarly for J & B too, who had lengthy journeys, thankfully. I was back by 4.30. Out for 6 hours, 4 of which were spent sat in the car!!

Anyhow, I am relaxed now......after a sit in the garden with a brew and my book for an hour, a quick & easy dinner, a potter with my camera, this simple but striking strand of lavender with the lawn as its backdrop caught my eye for todays blip.

Just been watching DIYSOS whilst uploading this.....omg, I am in bits, one I hadn't seen before from 2018!

Hope you're all ok and staying safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.