Covidiots, Again

One of the Blip functions I love - or used to - is the “1 year ago” function. Today in:-

2012 - Trier (Germany), on a seminar. 
2013 & 2014 - at home.
2015 - Helsinki, on holiday.
2016 - Gaimersheim (Bavaria), staying with Dr D, but starting to face up to our imminent split, having more or less dealt with the recent death of my mother. (The two events were linked.) 
2017 & 2018 - at home.
2019 - Tbilisi, on holiday. 

Here I am in 2020, on holiday but unable to go anywhere. This will be the 3rd such experience this year. Until a few days ago I thought I would be able to have a few nights away (in Scotland) next week, but the way the virus spread is going, those hopes are fading fast. We shall see. 

My hunch is any new restrictions will be met with widespread non-compliance this time. The ignorant and selfish 20% who have been breaking them all along have emboldened many more. 40%, I reckon. They know there is no enforcement and politicians’ pleas to “be nice” are a waste of breath. 

I was out doing my usual Friday errands this morning and while driving home, saw a plumbers’ van behind me with 3 people crammed in the front seats. No masks. 

That, ladies and gentlemen, is how the virus gets around. They take it into customers’ homes. They take it to the pub after work. They take it home with them. 

Anyway, the weather has been beautiful and it helped my get a Blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.