Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Acomb woods

Peaceful, sunlit woods
Thistledown and blackberries
Autumn has arrived


Mum has been writing a haiku every day for the last couple of weeks, inspired by our friend Lesley (see yesterday's blip).

This morning I was hairdresser and did my best haircut and set for Mum.

This afternoon, I drove to Acomb for my first walk in the woods for a couple of months. I walked there a lot during lockdown and had to stop when I was self isolating before my operation.

Lots of plants have gone over and are spreading seeds on the forest floor. It looks a bid untidy and unloved, but then you find bindweed in flower, the remnants of red campion, loads of blackberries and the seeds of rosebay willowherb and thistles blowing around. The fungi are starting to shoot up into view too.

As I enjoyed walking - further than I have been to date - I decided to have a go at my own haiku!

Arth was a bit swollen but responded well to an icepack when I came home.

Tonight I was in the audience at the Hexham Photographic Group for a talk by David Collyer about his recent photography, All in a Day's Work, which is shot in an operating theatre environment at a small district general hospital in Wales during the Covid crisis.

Of course I loved being back (virtually) in the hospital environment and I was fascinated to hear how the project developed. It was an excellent evening and very thought provoking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.