Venford waterfall

I was out on Dartmoor today with a photographer friend. It was a bright sunny windy day as we  met up at Combestone Tor.  I took a little time wandering around the area looking at the delightful views then started on photographing different angles of the tor.  There were several walkers out enjoying the scenery and at one stage a group of horses and their riders climbed around the tor.  We then headed over to Venford Reservoir, a place I have visited many times with the birding group but I hadn't found the waterfall.  My friend had and she led me down the steep hill and along the Venford Brook until we came to it.  We had a great time here trying to find the best positions without getting our feet wet and avoiding the sun.  We then climbed our way back to the top.  Its certainly fairly steep here but luckily the ground wasn't very wet and slippery.   

Our next point of call was Emsworthy which involved driving through Dartmeet, Ponsworthy and Widecombe, a very scenic route but unfortunately with narrow roads which caused me some consternation, I must use our very old smaller car next time.  We were the only ones wandering around Emsworthy Barn and took great delight in exploring all sides of it.  There are so many wonderful stone walls, mossy bits and trees around it. Not to mention the horses and sheep.  By now it was beginning to get later and the light was getting better but we had to get home.  Another great location to revisit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.