Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Only Photo

An early walk confirmed that the rutting field had finally been harvested.  It was also probable that the activity to bring in the harvest had caused the local deer herd to relocate for a short time.

I walked the other paths around the land only finally returning to the field after drawing a blank in spotting any deer.  I was approaching the field from undercover and only in the last minute did I notice a hind grazing within a few metres.  I managed a minute or so before her head popped up and she stared straight in my direction.  I really need to improve my field craft despite wearing a camouflage jacket, cap and the camera lens now has lens coat camouflage kit on it.  I was even peering through a bush so as to break up my profile and I was downwind of the deer.  I didn't think I'd made any noise though with those ears you can imagine how good their hearing is.

Anyway just this one shot before she was away.

It was another working morning, with L upstairs using the study and me on the kitchen table.  Ah, the wonders of home working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.