Bargain of the Day

Another cloudless day. We decided to stay home today as Daughter One had some shopping to do before going home tomorrow. We'll sit out on the deck in the sun instead. I had a look at the plants in Homebase, as I usually do, and saw this hanging basket full of what was labelled Scaevola. £15, reduced by 50%. I thought about it and looked it up when I got home. A half-hardy perennial from Australia, Scaevola aemula, blue flowers. I went back down and bought it, thinking it reasonable value at £7.50. To my surprise they charged me only £3.75! This is obviously a white cultivar so I've emailed Homebase to ask for the name and contact details of the Dutch supplier - I like to know my facts! I was pleased to read that it's very tolerant to high summer temperatures, even into three figures; I thought this might be useful in Oban!! Close-up in extras.

Limerick of the Day:

A gardening enthusiast from Harris,
Grew a wonderfully vigorous Phalaris.
This grass was so pampered
It expanded unhampered,
And emerged through a grating in Paris!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.