Rosehips

We had a good zoom session this lunchtime with Emma presenting a ‘Pointless’ type quiz.  After lunch Maureen and Ian came round for a chat and cup of tea in the garden.  With the onset of autumn around the corner I’m not sure how face-to-face meetings will continue.
 
The topic for today in Andy Beer's excellent book of nature is Rosehip.  I’ve added the narrative from the book below.  So that is the topic of my blip.  They are actually next door’s rosehips, but I’m sure they won’t mind me taking a photo or two. 
 

20th September  Rosehip

My neighbour, who lived in the house next door for 70 years, once told me about being given days off school to go and gather rosehips for the war effort.   Not only did she get a day off, but she got a sixpence as well.
 
Rosehips are the red-orange fruit of the dog rose.  They are rich in vitamin C and were used to make rosehip syrup at a time when we needed all of the gifts from the hedgerow that we could get.
 
We used to use them for less savoury purposes.  The white pith from a rosehip is ‘itching powder’ and was one of the weapons of childhood, along with a barley dart and a pea shooter made from an elder twig.
 
Andy Beer   Every Day Nature

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.