Worcester Day 3

Colin met friends this morning  whilst Ann and I visited the Worcester Museum and Art Gallery.   Firstly, of course,  we went for coffee, this time to an independent with a very nice garden/sitting area.  My coffee was fine, not so Ann's, ah well there's plenty more coffee shops in Worcester and tomorrow is another day.

This evening we all went for a meal at Wildwood Kitchen where we had a very nice time, with the exception of when the young lad/waiter knocked a fairly full glass of Heineken across the table.  Luckily most of it missed us and our meals, though Ann's bag had a bit of a soaking.

I had read in the Worcester News that it is Organ Donation Awareness Week and the Hive, a famous Worcester building, was going to be lit up, followed by the University Art School building on Wednesday.  So as it was dark when we left the restaurant we walked over there to take a look.  It was not lit up!  Only the internal lights were on as people still worked there. Disappointed, we started walking back.  I noticed the tower on the Art School building was lit up, but then it probably always is, so I took a consolation photo.

The theme for today's Mono Monday hosted by random_angel is 400, celebrating 400 occurrences of Mono Monday.  I was not going to submit a picture this week as I couldn't find a 400 connection, then I discovered one!  The charter that placed Worcester on the map as a 'proper' city was signed by James I on 2nd October 1621, FOUR HUNDRED years ago.  The  signed charter is on display to the public for the first time in the guildhall foyer.

So the university tower gets the Mono treatment,  the original colour version is in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.