carliewired

By carliewired

My Wedding House

She is a lovely
charmer in our city's West
End. I paid homage. 

~ carliewired

On a late spring afternoon in 1981, M and I were married in this house. Its owners at the time were dear friends from Australia. RM was a teacher and J was a geologist. They had arrived with their three young children, stayed for 10 years, then returned home to Australia before our first child was born. 

Late last evening I received email from RM. She's been diagnosed with lung cancer. Although she's been told it's curable, it means radiation, chemo therapy and a year of immunotherapy. She will be 80 come November. My heart is broken to think she must go through all of that. 

I have seldom seen this house since RM and Jim took their leave in 1986. I had to come for a visit this morning to remember happier times. It's is nice to see that the present owners are taking such good care of RM's house. She would be pleased. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.