Day 3

All day I was checking the news from time to time, in case any new restrictions had been announced. 

By 5pm I decided the changes will probably come tomorrow at lunchtime, took an educated guess at what they will be (no inside knowledge, to be honest) and so I decided to be bold and book 3 nights away. 

Tomorrow morning I will drive north to a hotel in Aberlour, on Speyside, where the whisky comes from. The good ones, anyway. For a town of 972 people to have 6 distilleries is worth a mention… 

I have driven through Aberlour many times, and because it sits in a valley which the road takes you downhill into, the air frequently smells of “distillery” as you approach. 

When poring over online reviews of the hotel, I was looking for clues about whether recent guests felt safe. They did. It is a good start. 

Apart from that I had a quiet and lazy day, trying to make sure my brain and body are in holiday mode. The Blip is my wee celebration after I had made my decision and booked.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.